AVALON

LEARNING

AVALON Learning Event: The present and future of language learning in virtual worlds

Event Details

AVALON Learning Event: The present and future of language learning in virtual worlds

Time: February 11, 2010 from 1pm to 3pm
Location: AVALON Learning island and Adobe ConnectPro
City/Town: http://ecampus.mpa.uni-kassel.de/lancelot
Website or Map: http://slurl.com/secondlife/A…
Event Type: in-world, live online event
Organized By: Heike Philp aka Gwen Gwasi
Latest Activity: Feb 11, 2010

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Thu 11 Feb 2009, 1pm GMT and 5am SL time
London 1pm, Berlin 2pm, Ankara 3pm, Dubai 5pm, Tokyo 10pm, New York 8am, Los Angeles (SL time) 5am.
For world time click here

Join us for our regular monthly AVALON LEARNING event in Second Life aimed at exploring best practise in language teaching and learning in virtual worlds.

We are looking forward to talking to you all in an open discussion on the present and future of language learning in virtual worlds.

Those who can not join Second Life can listen to the panel discussion by using Adobe ConnectPro. We will screenshare this event. The URL for this virtual classroom is http://ecampus.mpa.uni-kassel.de/lancelot

Place of the meeting in the in-world is the open air discussion round table on AVALON Learning island.

CLICK HERE TO TELEPORT

Graham Stanley of British Council and Heike Philp of LANCELOT School will talk about their recent experience at the EVO series of live online workshops and we look forward to an open discussion with you all about the challenges for educators who are teaching languages online in virtual worlds.

This discussion will last about an hour and thereafter, Graham will conduct a workshop on classroom management.

Comment Wall

Add a Comment

RSVP for AVALON Learning Event: The present and future of language learning in virtual worlds to add comments!

Join AVALON

Comment by Graham Stanley on February 9, 2010 at 22:08
Here are the details of the second hour:

The physical context where language is taught is an important aspect to language learning. In our RL classrooms, seating arrangements and positioning can affect communication . And groupwork and pairwork are essential to communicative language learning.

In this session, we'll look at the management of spaces and learners in SL and how it is similar / different to RL.

Time: 2 pm GMT (click for your local time)

Attending (13)

Might attend (10)

Not Attending (3)

© 2014   Created by Gary Motteram.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service