AVALON

LEARNING

Panel Discussion: Teacher training in 3D

Event Details

Panel Discussion: Teacher training in 3D

Time: April 23, 2010 from 7am to 8am
Location: Adobe ConnectPro
Website or Map: http://proj.emea.acrobat.com/…
Event Type: panel discussion
Organized By: Heike Philp aka Gwen Gwasi
Latest Activity: Apr 23, 2010

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Friday, 23 April 2010 - 7am GMT (8am London Time)
Hawaii 9pm (Thu), Los Angeles/ SL time midnight (Thu/Fri), New York 3am, London 8am, Paris 9am, Dubai 11am, New Delhi 12:30pm, Beijing 3pm, Tokyo 4pm, Sydney 5pm
For World Time click HERE

After more than a year of development the AVALON teacher training course was piloted over a period of 5 weeks from mid February to mid March 2010.

This panel discussion takes place at the Virtual Round Table conference and we are very much looking forward to hear first-hand about this experience from developers, trainers and trainees.

The discussion will take place in Adobe ConnectPro and will be streamed in Second Life on the AVALON learning island. Viewer 2 is pre-requisite.

The pilot
It was not an easy task to select 20 language teachers of the eager 70 applicants received and in the end 16 teachers in 11 countries enjoyed a challenging course. Sadly four of them did not join due to hardware problems or failing internet.

After 4 weeks with 2 times 2h a week group sessions in Second Life the trainees presented their final tasks, a language course designed to be held in Second Life.

Trainers of this course were Graham Stanley, Nergiz Kern, Joe Pereira and Holly Longstroth. Developers are Gary Motteram, Susan Brown and Zeynep Onat-Stelma at the University of Manchester.

Comment Wall

Add a Comment

RSVP for Panel Discussion: Teacher training in 3D to add comments!

Join AVALON

Comment by ALEXANDRA KOUKOUMIALOU on April 19, 2010 at 20:35
Thanks Heike!\
My internet connection is a bit unreliable at the moment, and I'm trying to fix it :( Hope to make it on Friday!
Comment by Päivi Svärd on April 18, 2010 at 8:11
I will be in an it and pedagogy related conference taking place here in Finland at the same time, but I will try to find an internet connection to listen to the panel discussion for at least an hour.
Comment by Anna Lazzari on April 17, 2010 at 12:12
I'm really sorry, but I have the same problem as Sanja. I teach on Friday mornings. I'll watch the recording later. Thanks.
Comment by Heike Philp aka Gwen Gwasi on April 16, 2010 at 8:45
Hi Sanja,

Yes there will be. Worry not. :-)

rgds Heike
Comment by Sanja Bozinovic on April 16, 2010 at 8:20
I teach from 8 am CET. I hope there will be a recording.

Attending (14)

Might attend (7)

Not Attending (3)

© 2017   Created by Gary Motteram.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service